The Crown of Potsdam’s Garden Empire

Previously known as the Eichberg and the Judenberg, the hill owes its current name to a sunny Pentecost (Whit Sunday) morning in 1804, which Queen Luise enjoyed on the elevation still covered with grapevines. Her husband, King Frederick William III, also spent a Pentecost holiday on the hill in 1817. He ordered that it be renamed Pfingstberg in memory of the queen, who had died young.
The twin-towered Belvedere building complex soars above the peak of the Pfingstberg, raising the view to a height of about 103 meters. A fantastic panorama reveals Potsdam’s unique island location, while granting views as far as the Berlin Fernsehturm (Television Tower) on Alexanderplatz. Conversely, at the feet of the Pfingstberg lay the historical landscaped ensembles of Sanssouci Park with the Ruinenberg, Babelsberg Palace and Park with the Flatow Tower, the former coach house of Glienicke Palace and Peacock Island.