On the Origins and History of the Temple of Pomona

In the 18th century a large private vineyard was located on the southern slope of the Pfingstberg. During the course of beautification work in 1800, its owner, the privy councilor Carl Ludwig von Oesfeld, commissioned Karl Friedrich Schinkel (1781-1841) – who was only nineteen at that time – to create a new building as a “temple de Pomona” in honor of the goddess of fruit trees and gardens. It was intended as a present to Oesfeld’s wife.
After construction on the Belvedere was brought to conclusion in 1863, albeit reduced, and the Temple of Pomona was preserved despite initial plans to tear it down, the temple was incorporated into Peter Joseph Lenné’s design for the gardens. A semicircular arbor emphasizes the Temple of Pomona’s asymmetric position when aligned to the Belvedere, while making a connection to it.

The Temple of Pomona, which had fallen into complete decline after 1945 and was robbed of structural components, could be reconstructed through the initiative of the “Arbeitsgemeinschaft (AG) Pfingstberg” and thanks to a donation from the Hermann Reemtsma Stiftung in 1992-93; since then it has reopened to the public. While the interior is currently used for exhibitions, during the summer season readings and fairy tales are presented on the roof of the temple, and visitors can also listen to cheerful and contemplative sounds on the lawn in front of it. The temple may be rented for private events, receptions, family celebrations and parties. Up to 30 guests can be accommodated in an enchanting ambiance.